college of Arts & Sciences


Vision and Mission

The College of Arts and Sciences offers common university-level coursework as well as the elective courses required by all Engineering Degree Programs. Students enter the College of Arts and Sciences following the successful completion of their language studies in the Academic Bridge Program (ABP) and take the requisite foundational courses before they start their engineering studies, which are all conducted in English. During their studies at the College of Arts and Sciences, students choose one of the six engineering departments to pursue an engineering degree program.

Learning / students Outcomes

The College of Arts and Sciences student learning outcomes show Knowledge, Skills & Aspects of Competency as follows:

A PI student will, by the end of the program, meet requirements for successful transfer into upper division of baccalaureate programs. 

Students will demonstrate:

  1. An ability to apply knowledge of the basic sciences (math, chemistry and physics) to identify, formulate, analyze, and solve problems.

  2. An ability to design and conduct experiments, and analyze and interpret resulting experimental data.

  3. An understanding of the engineering design process as a means of obtaining conceptual solutions to engineering problems.

  4. An understanding of a variety of political, social, cultural, economic and ethical points of view with reference to contemporary global and regional issues.

  5. An ability to use techniques, skills, and modern engineering design tools.

  6. An ability to work effectively and professionally in a team.

  7. Effective communication through reading, writing, listening, and speaking. 

  8. An awareness of, and engagement in, independent study and life-long learning.


Program Educational Objectives

The principal educational objectives of the College of Arts and Sciences are that within two or three years of completing A&S, a student will:

  • Within two years of completing A&S general education core requirements, students will:

  • Possess the fundamental knowledge and skills in chemistry, physics and mathematics required for engineering studies and subsequent careers in engineering.

  • Understand human behaviour, attitudes and ethics within a global and societal context.

  • Demonstrate a range of behavioral competences appropriate to undergradute study.

  • Be aware of the requirements of academia.

  • Communicate effectively in spoken and written English.

  • Demonstrate critical thinking and problem-solving skills.

  • Recognize the need for, and possess an ability to apply, study skills and life-long learning.

  • Demonstrate creativity.



Message from the Dean

The College of Arts and Sciences plays an important role in ensuring that all students have a sound foundation on which to build their specialized engineering studies at the Petroleum Institute. This foundation includes courses in the fundamentals of Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, as well as a range of courses that are aimed at developing students' academic and professional skills, such as Communication, and which therefore support both their studies and their future development as engineers. To ensure that students also become well-rounded individuals who understand the critical role they play in their communities and beyond, the College of Arts and Sciences also provides a variety of enriching courses in the Humanities and Social Sciences, such as Islamic Studies, Economics and History.

The College of Arts and Sciences is also home to a program that is unique in the region, known as the Freshmen Year Experience (FYE). This program supports newly-admitted students during their assimilation into the scholarly community, through a combination of credit-bearing courses and an extensive range of extracurricular activities both on- and off-campus, all of which are aimed at developing students' success-focused attributes. In implementing its vision for the Freshmen Year Experience, the College of Arts and Sciences combines the Petroleum Institute's outstanding facilities, resources, faculty and staff to realize its mission of ensuring that all freshmen are able to become successful engineering students, and thus, eventually, successful engineers in society.

Dr. Caroline Brandt
Acting Dean, College of Arts & Sciences



Program Facilities

The classrooms and the laboratories are fully equipped with the latest state-of-the-art teaching tools including computers, projectors, wireless internet connection, smart boards and the latest experimental equipment in the Chemistry and Physics laboratories.


Degree Requirements

The Electrical Engineering Program begins with basic studies in engineering science coupled with fundamental studies in electrical engineering. The program continues with advanced courses in power, and controls and instrumentations engineering. To reinforce the principles and concepts introduced in the classroom, the program incorporates extensive hands-on laboratory work, design experiences to apply learned knowledge to solve representatives of real-world problems, and an environment that stresses teamwork and leadership. In addition, the program emphasizes the development of computer, and oral and written communication skills. The Electrical Engineering Program features a summer internship in industry, where students will gain significant exposure to the petroleum processing industries in the Middle East and elsewhere in the world. The Electrical Engineering Program requires 130 credits to graduate distributed as follows: 53 credits in General Education Requirements, 68 credits in Major Requirements, at least 6 credits in Major Electives (at the 400-level) and 3 credits in Technical Electives.

Faculty

Dr. Akram Alfantazi
Head of Department, Chemistry
Professor, Chemical Engineering

Email: aalfantazi@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-591
Office: 2204 (Bu Hasa)

Dr. Andrea Dallas
Acting Department Chair
Assistant Professor, Communication

Email: adallas@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5221
Office: 1-216

Dr. Sami Ainane
Head of Department, General Studies
Associate Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Email: sainane@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971 2 6075983
Office: 4-103 (Umm Al Shaif)

Dr. Mark Hayman
Chair of Department, H&SS
Assistant Professor, History

Email: mhayman@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5237
Office: Zarkuh-1206

Dr. Andriy Victor Didenko
Head of of Department, Mathematics
Assistant Professor

Email: adidenko@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5341
Office: BuHasa (Rm 2-108A)

Dr. Abdellatif Bouchalkha
Chairman of Department, Physics
Associate Professor

Email: abouchalkha@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5203
Office: 2107

Dr. Avin Pillay
Professor, Chemistry

Email: apillay@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5417
Office: 2009A (Bu Hasa)

Dr. Mirella Elkadi
Associate Professor, Chemistry

Email: melkadi@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-6075621
Office: 8-250 (Arzanah)

Dr. Mohammad Abu Haija
Assistant Professor, Chemistry

Email:mabuhaija@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5229
Office: 8283 (Arzanah)

Dr. Mutasem Sinnokrot
Assistant Professor, Chemistry

Email: msinnokrot@pi.ac.ae
Phone: 607-5440
Office: Bu Hasa 2-006

Dr. Paul Rostron
Assistant Professor, Chemistry

Email: prostron@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5217
Office: 2013 (Bu Hasa)

Mary McDermott
Lecturer, Chemistry

Email: mmcdermott@pi.ac.ae
Phone: 607-5736
Office: Arzanah-8271

Ms. Meriem Bildsten
Lecturer, Chemistry

Email: mbildsten@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5327
Office: 2114 (Bu Hasa)

Rehana Rostron
Lecturer, Chemistry

Email: rrostron@pi.ac.ae
Phone: 607-5693
Office: Zarkuh-1208

Ziad Aoudi
Lecturer, Chemistry

Email: zaoudi@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-6075023
Office: Arzanah - 282

Dr. Caroline Brandt
Acting Dean, College of Arts & Sciences
Associate Professor, Communication

Email: cbrandt@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971 2 607 5725
Office: 8-270 (Arzanah)

Dr. Roger Nunn
Professor, Communication
Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

Email: rnunn@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971 2 6075022
Office: 8272 (Arzanah)

Dr. Hwee Ling Lim
Associate Professor, Communication

Email: hlim@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971 2 607 5324
Office: 1220 (Zarkuh)

Dr. Nicholas Dimmitt
Associate Professor, Communication

Email: ndimmitt@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971-2-607-5287 (Arzanah)
Office: 8278 (Arzanah)

Dr. Asli Hassan
Assistant Professor, Communication       
Head of the Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT)

Email: ahassan@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971-2-607-5698
Office: 8-252

Dr. Jessica Midraj
Assistant Professor, Communication

Email: jmidraj@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971 2 607 5068
Office: 8-284 (Arzanah)

Dr. Mark Wyatt
Assistant Professor, Communication

Email: mwyatt@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971-26075694
Office: 8-276 (Arzanah)

Dr. Muna A. Balfaqeeh
Assistant Professor, Communication
Dean of Student Life

Email: mbalfaqeeh@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971-2-607-5972
Office: 8-101-A (Arzanah Building)

Dr. Nader Ayish
Assistant Professor, Communication

Email: nayish@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5392
Office: 205 (Zarkuh)

Dr. Tanju Deveci
Assistant Professor, Communication

Email: tdeveci@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5200
Office: 1218 (Zarkuh Building)

Dr. Anna Grigoryan
Senior Lecturer, Communication

Email: agrigoryan@pi.ac.ae
Phone: 75372
Office: 1-214

Mr. David Dalton
Senior Lecturer, Communication

Email: ddalton@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971 2 607 5238
Office: 1217 (Zarkuh)

Mr. D. John Langille
Senior Lecturer, Communication

Email: dlangille@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5697
Office: 8-273 (Arzanah)

Mr. Robert Craig
Senior Lecturer, Communication

Email: rcraig@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971 2 607 5179/5021
Office: 1217 (Zarkuh)

Dr. Ali Bouabid
Assistant Professor, General Studies

Email: abouabid@pi.ac.ae
Phone: 971 2 607 5182
Office:  Zarkuh - 021

Dr. Jaby Mohammed,
Assistant Professor, General Studies

Email: jmohammed@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5297 (Bu Hasa) and 607-5696 (Arzanah)
Office: 2118 (Bu Hasa)/8245 (Arzanah)

Dr. Mary Hatakka
Assistant Professor, General Studies

Email: mhatakka@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971 2 607 5205
Office: 1202 (Zarkuh)

Dr. Riaan van der Merwe
Assistant Professor, General Studies

Email: rvandermerwe@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 260 75219 (work)
Office: Zarkuh-006A

Dr. Saed Talib Amer
Assistant Professor, General Studies

Email: samer@pi.ac.ae
Office: +971 2 607 5578
Office: 8262 (Arzanah Building)

Dr. Samuel Cubero
Assistant Professor, General Studies

Email:  scubero@pi.ac.ae
Office:  +971-2-607-5176  
Office:  4102  (Building 4)

Dr. Sevket Benhur Oral
Assistant Professor, General Studies

Email: soral@pi.ac.ae
Office: +971 2 607 5426
Office: 4005 (Building 4)

Dr. Elsaid Hassan Salem
Visiting Assistant Professor, General Studies

Email: esalem@pi.ac.ae
Office: +971 2 607 5052
Office: Umm Shaif - 4-121

Mr. David Moore
Lecturer, General Studies

Email: dmoore@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5233
Office: 2-2228

Ms. Dragana Randelovic
Lecturer, General Studies

Email:drandelovic@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-6075029
Office: 8-1018-B

Mr. James Small
Lecturer, General Studies

Email: jsmall@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-6075726
Office: 8-286

Mr. Wael El-Sokkary
Lecturer / AIM Coordinator, General Studies

Email: Welsokkary@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971-2-607-5379
Office: 1008B

Dr. Mashhad Al-Allaf
Associate Professor

Email: malallaf@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5208
Office: Zarkuh-1212 

Dr. Matthew Webb
Associate Professor, Political Science

Email: mwebb@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5389
Office: Zarkuh-1208

Dr. Amani Abdullatif Omer
Assistant Professor, Economics

Email: aomer@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5258 / 607-5070
Office: Zarkuh-1204

Dr. Elrashid  Yousif Mohamed Abbas
Assistant Professor, Arabic Language

Email: eabbas@pi.ac.ae
Phone: + 971 2 6075216
Office: Zarkuh-1210

Mr. Abdulla Al Busaeedi
Lecturer, Islamic Studies

Email: aalbusaeedi@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5880)
Office: Zarkuh Building, 1-207

Dr. Albert Wijeweera 
Associate Professor, Economics

Email: alwijeweera@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971-2-607-5216 
Office: Arzanah - 8277

Dr. Dimitrios Reppas 
Assistant Professor, Economics

Email: dreppas@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5244
Office: 1-213 (Zarkuh)

Dr. Ryan I. Fernandes
Associate Professor, Mathematics

Email: rfernandes@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5274
Office: 2118 (BuHasa Building)

Dr. Abdullahi Umar
Associate Professor, Mathematics

Email: aumar@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5134
Office: 2-106 (BuHasa Building)

Dr. Alip Mohammed
Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Email: aalifu@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5348
Office: 8-292 (Arzanah)

Dr. Alrazi Abdeljabbar
Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Email: aabdeljabbar@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5268
Office: 8-256 (Arzanah Building)

Dr. David Allison
Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Email: dallison@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5691
Office: 8260 (Arzanah)

Dr. Davide Batic
Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Email: dbatic@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-60-75139
Office: Arzanah-8-104B

Dr. Fawaz Hjouj
Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Email: fhjouj@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5168
Office: 2104 (BuHasa Building)

Dr. Gary Miller
Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Email: gmiller@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5620
Office: 2120 (BuHasa Building)

Dr. Khaled Dib
Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Email: kdib@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5671
Office: 8-274 (Arzanah Building

Dr. Mohamed Soufiane Jouini 
Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Email: mjouini@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-60-75232
Office: 2-110 / 8-287

Dr. Trung Tran
Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Email: ttran@pi.ac.ae
Tel: +971 2 607 5250
Office: 2112, BuHasa Building

Mr. Ahmed Ameur
Lecturer, Mathematics

Office No.: 8-275 Arzanah
Tel: +971 2 607-5648
E-mail: aameur@pi.ac.ae

Dominic Munster
Lecturer, Mathematics

Office No.: Zarkuh-1201
Tel. Ext. No.: 607-5323
E-mail: dmunster@pi.ac.ae

Mr. Denis Blouin
Lecturer, Mathematics

Office: Bu Hasa 2-108
Email: dblouin@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-60-75342

Dr. Ernest Afari
Lecturer, Mathematics

Office No.: Zarkuh-1203
Tel. Ext. No.: 60-75212
E-mail: eafari@pi.ac.ae

Mr. John Clark
Lecturer, Mathematics

Office No.: 8-280 Arzanah
Tel. Ext. No.: 607-5156
E-mail: jclark@pi.ac.ae

Ms. Mariam Helal Al Hanai
Lecturer, Mathematics

Office No.: Zarkuh-1209
Tel. Ext. No.: 607-5127
E-mail: malhanai@pi.ac.ae

Ms. Nadia Nwayhed
Lecturer, Mathematics

Email: nnwayhed@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5268
Office: BuHasa (Rm 2-114)

Mr. Neville Martin
Lecturer, Mathematics

Office No.: Bu Hasa - 2116
Tel. Ext. No.: 607-5347
E-mail: nmartin@pi.ac.ae

Ms. Samira Stitou
Lecturer, Mathematics

Office No.: Zarkuh-1211
Tel. Ext. No.: 607-5178
E-mail: sstitou@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Kofi Agyeman
Professor, Physics

Email: kagyeman@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971 2 607 5256
Office: 2105

Dr. Kevin Dean
Associate Professor, Physics

Email: kdean@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-60-75298
Office: 2119 / 8116

Dr. Curtis Bradley
Associate Professor, Physics

Email: cbradley@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971-2-60-75293
Office: 2115

Dr. Jamal Hajsaleh
Associate Professor, Physics

Email: jhajsaleh@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607724
Office: 2117

Dr. Sufian Abedrabbo
Associate Professor, Physics

Email: sabedrabbo@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-6075854
Office: 2103

Dr. Firuz Demir
Assistant Professor, Physics

Email: fdemir@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-6076101
Office: 2113

Dr. Jean Pierre Atanas
Assistant Professor, Physics

Email: jpierre@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-607-5422
Office: 2111

Mr. Nabee Hasheem
Lecturer, Physics

Email: nhasheem@pi.ac.ae
Phone: +971-2-60-75235
Office: 8295

Mr. Hagop Aynedijan
Lecturer, Physics

Email: haynedjian@pi.ac.ae
Phone:+971-2-6075171
Office: Araznah Building- 8258