Mechanical Engineering



Degree Requirements

The field of Mechanical Engineering deals with the science and engineering of mechanical devices and processes. Accordingly, the degree program begins with basic studies in engineering science including statics, dynamics, fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, and mechanics of materials. The program continues with advanced courses in machine design, computer-aided engineering, heat transfer, systems dynamics & control, engineering vibration and turbomachinery.

The design experience in the ME program is introduced progressively at several stages in the curriculum from two introductory design courses in Sophomore year to two-semester capstone mechanical design sequence courses (MEEG 490 and MEEG 491) in the senior year. The design curriculum emphasizes design, communication, and computer-aided system, and component design strategies. The program features an industrial summer internship where students gain exposure to the petroleum and natural gas processing industries in the Middle East or elsewhere in the world.

The Mechanical Engineering Program requires 134 credits to graduate distributed as follows: 45 credits in General Education Requirements, 65 credits in Major Requirements, 12 credits in humanities and social sciences, at least 6 credits in Major Electives and maximum of 6 credits in Technical Electives.

Study Plan


Download Study Plan




Faculty

Dr. Lyes Khezzar
Department Chair & Professor

Arzanah Building, Room 8-343
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5543
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email:  lkhezzar@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Peter Rodgers
Associate Vice President (Research Engagement) and Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3012
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5397
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email: prodgers@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Nader Vahdati
Associate Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3007A
Office: +971 2 607 5787
Fax: +971 2 607 5200
Email: nvahdati@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Jamal Ahmad
Associate Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3118
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5338
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5XXX
Email:jahmad@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Clarence Rodrigues
Associate Professor

Habshan Building, Room 5230
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5931
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5628
Email:  crodrigues@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Valérie Eveloy
Associate Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3010A
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5533
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email: veveloy@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Sami Ainane
Associate Professor

Umm Shaif Building, Room 4103
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5983
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5645
Email: sainane@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Rodney J. Simmons
Associate Professor

Office: Umm Shaif Building, Room 4009
Phone: +971 2 607 5122
Fax: +971 2 607 5194
Email: rodsimmons@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Afshin Goharzadeh
Associate Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3010-C

Office: +971 (0)2 607 5396
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email: agoharzadeh@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Ameen El-Sinawi
Associate Professor

Umm Shaif Building, Room 4-019
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5509
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email: aelsinawi@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Ebrahim Al-Hajri
Director of External Relations and Collaborations & Associate Professor

Habshan Building, Room 5339
Office: 
 +971 2 607 5450
Fax: 
+971 2 607 5200
Email: 
ealhajri@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Imad Barsoum
Associate Professor

Arzanah Building, Room 8-345
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5273
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5194
Email: ibarsoum@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Md. Islam

Associate Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3005,
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5230
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email: dislam@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Hamad Karki
Director of Arts and Sciences & Assistant Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3010 B
Office: +971 2 607 5330
Fax: +971 2 607 5200 
Email: hkarki@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Mohamed Alshehhi
Director of Strategic Planning & Assistant Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3004
Office:+971 2 607 5213
Fax: +971 2 607 5200
Email: malshehhi@pi.ac.ae 

Dr. Ebru Günister 
Assistant Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3120
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5231
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email: egunister@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Oleg Shiryayev
Assistant Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3007
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5451
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5194
Email: oshiryayev@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Fahad Almaskari
Assistant Professor

Umm Shaif Building - 3006
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5577
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email: falmaskari@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Ali Al Alili
Assistant Professor

Office: Umm Shaif Building, Room 4015
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5722
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email: alialalili@pi.ac.ae

Dr. YAP Yit Fatt
Assistant Professor

Umm Shaif Building, Room 4010
Office: +971 (0)2 607 5175
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email:  yfatt@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Firas Jarrar
Assistant Professor

Umm Shaif Building, Room 4123
Office:
 +971 (0)2 607 5018
Fax: +971 (0)2 607 5200
Email:  fjarrar@pi.ac.ae