Petroleum Engineering



Degree Requirements

The PEP is designed to give students a robust education in the fundamentals of petroleum engineering science as well as the specific training to apply this knowledge in the oil and gas industries. The features of the program are the extensive laboratory work and the summer internship in industry, where students gain invaluable experience in the Middle East or elsewhere in the world. The PEP requires 133 credits to graduate, distributed as follows: 53 credits in General Education Requirements; 74 credits in Major Requirements, and at least 6 credits in Major or pre-approved Technical Electives.

Study Plan


Download Study Plan





Faculty

Dr. Vassilios C. Kelessidis
Professor & Department Chair

Ruwais Building, Room 3107A
Office: +971 2 607 5386
Fax: +971 2 607 54200
Email: vkelessidis@pi.ac.ae

Dr. John M. Williams
Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3106, Arzanah Building 327
Office: +971 2 607 5387 / 5031
Fax: +971 2 607 5200
Email: jwilliams@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Jorge Salgado Gomes
Adjunct Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3-103
Office: +971 2 607 5180
Fax: +971 2 607 5200
Email: jgomes@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Samuel Osisanya
Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3119
Office: +971 2 607 5159
Phone: +971 2 607 5200
Email: sosisanya@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Hadi A. Belhaj
Associate Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3112
Office: +971 2 607 5589
Fax: +971 2 607 5589
Email: hbelhaj@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Motiur Rahman
Associate Professor

Arzanah Building, Room 8329
Office: +971 2 607 5680
Fax: +971 2 607 5200
Email: mrahman@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Mohammed Haroun
Associate Professor

Ruwais, Building 3, Room 3111
Office:  +971 2 6075326 
Fax:  +971 2 6075200
Email:  mharoun@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Bisweswar Ghosh
Associate Professor

Ruwais Building Room 3114
Office: +971 2 607 5538
Phone: +971 2 607 5200
Email: bghosh@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Mohammed Al Kobaisi
Assistant Professor

Umm Shaif Building, 4-115
Phone: +9712 607 5137
Fax: +9712 607 5200
Email: malkobaisi@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Ali M. AlSumaiti
Assistant Professor

Ruwais Building, Room 3109
Phone: +971 2 607 5703
Fax: +971 2 607 57200
Email: aalsumaiti@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Jing Lu
Assistant Professor

Arzanah Building, Room 8-349
Office: +971 2 607 5145
Fax: +971 2 607 5363
Email: jlu@pi.ac.ae

Dr. Waleed S. AlAmeri
Director of Freshman Year Experience & Assistant Professor                      

Arzanah Building, Room 8331
Office: +971 2 607 5798
Fax: +971 2 607 5200
Email: walameri@pi.ac.ae